Tuesday, February 2, 2010

Chicago Winner Marathoner of the Year

All-Athletics.com, one heck of a Web site for running and track that is based in Europe, has announced its Marathon Runners of the Year for 2009, among other honors it bestows. They are (male) Samuel Kamau Wanjiru of Kenya and (female) Irina Mikitenko of Germany. Wanjiru won the Bank of America Chicago Marathon last year in 2:05:41. Mikitenko was second woman here with a 2:26:31. And who beat her, you ask? Do you remember Liliya Shobukhova of Russia? I confess I couldn't remember without looking it up. She won in 2:25:56.